Skimlinks Test
Connect with us

Fabulize Magazine

25 September Black Book Releases To Add To Your TBR Pile

September Black book releases

Books

25 September Black Book Releases To Add To Your TBR Pile

25 September Black Book Releases To Add To Your TBR Pile

Here’s a short list of Black books that are releasing in September 2022.


September Black book releases

Now that the heatwaves are gone and there is a chill in the air, it’s time to make space on your bookshelves for some new releases. While it’s entirely possible you might not read them right away, it’s good to save them to your Goodreads or Storygraph account. September is a mixed bag of books from Black authors but there are plenty of books in a number of genres for everyone. It doesn’t matter what your flavor is, you’ll find something that speaks to your soul.

From historical fiction to romance to non-fiction there are some eye-catching titles that you won’t want to miss this month. Some of the most anticipated books include debut authors such as Nigerian author Omolola Ijeoma Ogunyemi and her recent debut of Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions. It’s currently Roxane Gay’s book club selection as well. Ogunyemi presents a beautifully told story that combines four, authentic women’s voices to share their experiences of life, love and culture. 

There’s plenty of Black-led and Black centering romance as well. For the gothic baddies, House of Hunger by Alexis Henderson puts a dystopian spin on her latest book. What if people choose to be servants of vampires if they knew it would elevate them out of poverty? This is a dark, gothic tale that you’d want to sink your teeth in. 

While this isn’t a complete list of all the Black books coming out in September, it’s a good start for those who are looking for books by Black authors. Enjoy! 

Do You Take This Man by Denise Williams 

Overworked RJ can admit that Lear is attractive. It’s hard not to miss his charming smile. From strangers who awkwardly and abruptly meet, to exchanging unpleasantries to being co-workers for a wedding seems like something that can only happen in romance novels, right? 

Refusing Compulsory Sexuality: A Black Asexual Lens on Our Sex-Obsessed Culture by Sherronda J. Brown

Being Black and asexual in a society where Black people are often over-sexualized by default often leaves Black voices and experiences overlooked. While the language presented can be heavy at times, this intersectional critique of how society views and expects sexuality to perform in binary and heteronormative terms.  

A Ghost in Shining Armor by Therese Beharrie

Looking for a lighthearted, paranormal romance? Gemma can see ghosts and she uses her gift to help the dearly departed finish their business with the living. However, it’s when she meets Levi and that is where things get complicated. Levi has lived and died and now he’s focused on helping Gemma. Can the living and formerly deceased find real love? Fans of Ghost and The Preacher’s Wife will enjoy this.

Dyslexia and Me: How to Survive and Thrive if You’re Neurodivergent by Onyinye Udokporo

If you’re Black and neurodivergent you will feel seen in this book. Udokporo who was featured in Forbes for discussing Neurodiversity And Entrepreneurship believes neurodivergent people can excel in entrepreneurship. 

The Two Lives of Sara by Catherine Adel West

West is back with another powerful story about family and identity while centering a Black woman’s point of view. Sara, a complicated woman, is trying to start anew in Memphis to run away from her past in Chicago. For readers, enjoy the sweet treat of learning about other Black, obscure authors from yesterday through the eyes of the characters in the book. 

The Black Cell by Wendy Shania

Are you looking for a new dystopian read? Set in Baltimore, MD in the near future, Black people are targeted by police at an all-time high. Ideal for readers who want to use the liberation framework in a sci-fi setting to highlight social injustices.

They Come At Knight by Yasmine Angoe

Serving as the follow-up to Her Name Is Knight, Nena Knight is back as the kickass assassin that I’d willing to do anything to protect the people she loves. While she works for a powerful organization, eventually the institution begins to crumble from the inside out and Nena has to face an uncomfortable revelation that will change her life forever.

To Win A Prince by Toni Shiloh

Iris seems to be living the dream. Using her keen sense of style to propel her business while being BFF with the Queen of a powerful African country certainly has its perks. But when she’s forced to work with the dejected Prince Ekon, they are both forced to admit their desires and wants. 

Soul of the Deep by Natasha Bowen

Speaking of Black mermaids! This highly anticipated sequel to the  New York Times bestseller, Skin of the Sea is available towards the end of this month. Bowen puts a dark spin on the classic mermaid lore with lots of action and consequences.

Where We End & Begin by Jane Igharo

Igharo is back again with a second chance about two former high school love birds who reunite at a wedding in Nigeria. It’s been twelve years since they made a vow to find a way to be together again and the time has finally arrived. 

Drunk On Love by Jasmine Guillory

A seductive one-night stand turn office romance on the backdrop of a winery is not the tale you didn’t know you needed. It all goes down in Napa Valley when tech bro eye candy meets an entrepreneur working hard to maintain her family’s winery.

Jollof Rice and Other Revolutions by Omolola Ijeoma Ogunyemi

A powerful and poignant story that connects four women together from childhood to adulthood. This beautiful African diaspora literary fiction delivers a relatable story of how gender, class, race and nationality impact Black people globally.

The Attic Child by Lola Jaye

This historical fiction set in London in the early 1900s is an unnerving tale of two children who are bound to one attic in two different time periods. Despite 90 years separating both victims, the cruelty and injustice remain the same. 

House of Hunger by Alexis Henderson

Ready for some gothic fantasy with chilling vampire vibes? 19-year-old Marion is tired of struggling to survive. When she answers a peculiar ad in the newspaper looking for a “bloodmaid” in exchange for a finer life, she decides to pursue it. When she meets her new mistress a bloody and lustful relationship develops that could lead to Marionn’s demise. 

Sweet, Soft, Plenty Rhythm by Laura Warrell 

One jazz musician named Circus has left a trail of scorned and infatuated women who are seeking to find their own voice without his validation. One of those women includes the former drummer he abandoned while she was pregnant. However, his now teen daughter admires him despite his poor choices. 

People Person by Candice Carty-Williams

Dimple just turned 30 and now she’s faced with the hard truth being an influencer is harder than she thought. Life takes a turn and her ‘rolling stone’ papa has other children Dimple barely knows. If you love messy families and astrology, put this on your TBR (to be read) list now.

Rules of Engagement by Stacey Abrams bka Selena Montgomery 

Abrams is back with another thriller but this time she adds some steamy romance. Two people, are both on a mission to find the truth while trying to ignore their attraction for each other as they infiltrate a terrorist organization. 

Days Come and Go by Hemley Boum

If you are looking for more translated books by Black authors you do not want to miss this recently translated book by Cameroonian author Hemley Boum. While on her deathbed, a mother recounts her life to her daughter who is at her side and records her mother’s life experiences. Boum invites the reader to an authentic view of Cameroon by using historical events and multi-generational storytelling. 

Rust In The Root by Justina Ireland 

Ready for some Black alternate historical fantasy fiction? Of course, you are! It’s 1937 and America is divided into people who can wield magic and those that can not. Laura Ann wants to get her license so she can practice legally and branch out on her own. However, she’s having a tough time and finally enrolls in a government agency that is supposed to help America for the better. 

On the Rooftop by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

This historical fiction novel takes place during the 1950s. Picture a story about a Motown girl group set in California. The mother is trying to live vicariously through her daughters as a stage mom, while her daughters are looking to find their own paths that may or may not include music. 

The Keeper by Tananarive Due

This ghostly graphic novel approaches horror through the story of grief. Aisha is still mourning her parents’ death and is sent to live with her grandmother in Detroit. However, her grandmother’s health is declining quickly. In her grandmother’s last efforts to protect her grandchild, she summons dark energy to protect her but the spirit feasts off the living to survive.

The Study of Human Life by Joshua Bennett 

Poetry that invokes speculative elements to create a collection of Black conscious narratives. Bennett talks about fatherhood, and social justice topics and even resurrects Malcolm X.

Black Panther: Protectors of Wakanda: A History and Training Manual of the Dora Milaje from the Marvel Universe by Karama Horne 

If you always wanted to learn more about the Dora Milaje, here’s your chance. Karama Horne, known as the pop culture reporter The Blerd Gurl, does a deep dive into the history of one of the most formidable warriors in comic book history. Learn how to train like the Dora Milaje just in time for New York Comic Con.

In the House of Transcendence by Amanda Ross

Give us more Black witches, please! Zora has powers that scare her but she’s learning to live with them. She leaves home and finds herself in the company of a powerful witch that offers her a unique opportunity to be a dancer at a magical burlesque club. Magic, murder and mayhem galore. 

Vanessa Jared’s Got A Man by LaQuette

Vanessa is a happily divorced woman who has formed The Savvy, Sexy Single Club and she plans on being just that. But her plans are turned upside down on her second anniversary when a man claims his little sister is trying to marry her no-good ex. Vanessa could care less until she spots her stolen grandmother’s ring on another woman’s finger. Watch out for the fireworks— in more ways than one. Who doesn’t love a good mature second chance at a love story? 

824
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Books

Facebook

Title

Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending

Advertisement
To Top
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com